Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

The Grose in Mono

I figured that as I hadn't featured a Blue Mountains scene for a bit, I had better do something about that. However I worry that my landscapes may be starting to have a sameness about them and so here is a mono (and slightly posterized) vision of the Grose Valley from Evans Lookout near Blackheath.

Rainie raised a point below about whether scenes like these should be rendered in mono. I feel that monochrome versions of iconic Blue Mountains locations have a certain degree of validity. It was a host of monochrome images in postcards and posters which originally promoted the area as a tourist destination prior to World War 1. This was primarily the work of local photographer, Harry Phillips. Every time I put the viewfinder to my eye on such subjects as this, I wonder what Harry might have made of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.