Why?

Why would someone strap themselves onto a snowboard and then hang on to a kite the size of a whale while careening across the frozen lake in just-barely-above-freezing wind.

Because it's FUN! As I watched them, I could imagine waiting for a gust, pulling the huge wing up and suddenly screaming across the surface. Or getting lifted off the ice and flying for a bit, like the guy with the yellow kite. No, I didn't catch it, it happened too quickly.

They were on the other side of the lake when I first showed up and as soon as I was spotted, they came closer and started performing. Hamming it up for the camera, they were.

It's quite the deal; the gear, the gear bags, the attire. As soon as the lake is liquid again, they'll be out there on their surf boards with sails, no doubt.

A glorious day weather wise; sun so bright, sky so blue. March appears to be coming in like a lamb. Uh oh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.