Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Another Roseate...

Last week I posted a picture of a Roseate Spoonbill, a glorious pink bird that is common in this area. Today, I give you what I am fairly certain is a Roseate Skimmer (Orthemis ferruginea), a dragon that is common in FL, but one that I'd not yet seen. Pretty hard to miss this big pink guy and when he landed about 10 feet away, I nearly dropped Big Daddy in my haste to fire off a few quick shots. Turns out that these dragons are the kind that return to the same perch repeatedly, so I had ample opportunities to shoot him.

My outing today was a short one - made a quick run over to Boca Ciega before doing some major grocery shopping. BC provided much to see, as usual. Some highlights for me were a twisted Anhinga, a Little Blue Heron, several butterflies, and a plethora of dragons. I even saw my very first Long Tailed Skipper Butterfly! Unfortunately, the photos didn't turn out well on that one, so I'll try again another day. If you're up for it, I've posted six of my best shots of the day on Flickr, starting HERE with a Skipper in the flowers. Hoping maybe one of my FL blip-buddies can id that skipper for me.

Hubs is working today, so I did some more unpacking this morning, as well as some cleaning. The best part of my morning was having a lovely long chat with Mom and Dad. They are hanging out in Idaho at the moment, doing tons of geocaching.

This morning at the feeder, my usual squirrel, Notch, was there ... with a youngster! I was pretty sure she was nursing so wasn't surprised to see a young squirrel out there with her today. Wasn't able to get pics, but I'm sure I'll get another chance.

Last night at about 12:30, the coyotes were singing in the field behind out townhouse again. I do so wish I could see them, but it's pitch black out there at night.

Happy Sunday, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.