North Sea Light

It was our last day at Race the Castles and we weren't running around a castle (!) but on sand dunes/castles at Forvie, north of Aberdeen. This was the view from the carpark, lovely I thought.

It was an enjoyable event if rather physical as the dunes were covered in marram grass, crowberry and lichens. At one point I tried crossing a marshy area which was in fact a stream in a marsh and very oily and smelly! Three strides in and I knew I was going to at least lose my shoes and maybe sink to my waist so I waded back out and went round. Taking photos at the finish I could tell which competitors had made the same mistake by the watermarks on their legs!

We are now comfortably ensconsed in the Premier Inn at Falkirk having taken the sensible decision to break the long journey home. We're hoping to call in at the Kelpies and the Falkirk Wheel in the morning on our way back to Yorkshire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.