Life Savors

By osuzanna

Performance

One of the members of my 22 year old book club moved to Annapolis several years ago, so once a year we go there for our book club meeting. Because I seem to be critically afflicted with Blip fever, I saw this as an opportunity to go early this morning, about 3 hours before our meeting. I wanted to spend some time at the very picturesque U.S. Naval Academy which is right in the heart of Annapolis at the junction of the Severn River and the Chesapeake Bay. When I was out of bed before it was daylight, my husband questioned my sanity.

After I parked, I decided to walk along the water and soon I came across dozens of small racing sailboats out on the river. As I got closer, I determined this was the Navy Fall Regatta, an intercollegiate sailing competition. The Naval Academy has a very large fleet of these small racing dinghies. It would seem to me that the Midshipmen might have an advantage in this competition since they are known to practice 3 hours a day 5 days a week. There were 20 Universities in the competition.

If you look at this in LARGE you may be able to see that the fellow in the red shirt on the Brown University team has a white bucket in his hand and is bailing water!
________________________________

Yesterday I attended an all day Lightroom “Develop” module course which was offered by Capital Photography and taught by Tim Cooper. I have been using Lightroom for about 3-4 months and except for a couple of tutorials, I have been self-taught and was really muddling my way through. Tim is an excellent teacher and he filled in the many gaps in my knowledge and taught a host of things about which I was clueless. I will need lots of practice to retain all that he taught us. He made a wonderful analogy about photography and music which I liked a lot. He said that taking the image was like writing the music and developing or processing the image is the performance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.