Lest we forget

I don't normally air political views here, but the current wave of anti-immigrant hysteria sweeping Britain sickens me. I'm an immigrant myself, with nearly 25 years residency here. In all that time I've paid all my taxes, and never claimed benefits. Statistics show that immigrants to the UK give far more than they take, adding wealth to the country through their hard work and endeavour.

But you'd never know that from the anti-foreigner rhetoric being flung around by most political parties at the moment. In the past it was people of colour and the Irish who weren't welcome - now it's anyone from the European Community .

Flashback to the Second World War - Britain's finest hour - and look who was fighting alongside the UK armed forces? No shortage of European soldiers, sailors and aircrew - all willing to give their lives to defend the UK and its freedoms.

Sorry for the rant, but the current headlong lurch to embrace small-minded, effectively racist policies against immigrants makes my blood boil.

In case anyone is still reading, this is one of five war graves in Symington Cemetary for Polish aircrew. Lest we forget, they died so others could live in freedom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.