boldsans

By rubyjones

The road to enlightenment.

So what did I learn on holiday?

Bangkok is a huge fucking cosmopolitan city.
How did I not know this? It isn't just filled with sex tourists,
and temples. Although there are both of course.
If you ever find yourself there, check out Chinatown.
It's like 17th century Macau. The faces, stalls and shops haven't changed
in hundreds of years. It's really wonderful. Visually incredible.
Made me want to be a better photographer.

Always put the lid on the juicer at breakfast.
People don't like to be showered with watermelon seeds.

Don't haggle with hard faced bastards, haggle with people who want
to make a sale but also like to smile.

Fun is where you are, not in the fancy hotel.

Checking in from Koh Samui to fly to Singapore is the least stressful
check in ever. Anywhere.

The Thais are the most gracious hawkers in the whole world.
If they try to sell you something, shaking your head with a smile is enough.
I've been in countries where they follow you back to the hotel,
kick down the door and try to steal your passport if you don't want to buy something.

And that I'm very lucky to live this life.

Only bring 1/3 of the clothes you think you'll need.
I never learn this.
I mean when am I ever going to wear that Panto cow outfit?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.