Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Little Blue...

I was actually feeling a little blue this morning, so I thought I'd head out and explore a new place about 20 minutes from here - Sawgrass Lake Park. As usual, having a camera in my hand and nature in front of my lens was just what the doctor ordered for my blue mood. And speaking of blue... it is such a thrill for me to see these Little Blue Herons so often here! This is a bird that is seen only rarely in the part of NJ I just moved from.

I took a bunch of pics of this one as it fished, but when I looked at them all the computer, this is the one that spoke to me. There is something I like about the limited field of focus here. I cropped this only minimally to get of some of the extra space at the top of the frame. Otherwise this is SOOC. I posted seven pictures from today, including this one starting HERE with a baby alligator! Yes, that's right, I finally found some alligators today - first I've seen since moving here. These were all under 4 feet - babies - but still probably capable of doing some damage were one to get one's hand too close. Hence the "Do Not Molest the Alligators" signs prominently displayed everywhere.

The tofu/swiss chard was a hit last night - and inf fact, hubs as asked that I save the recipe to make again. Tonight, I'm making a Thai seasoned butternut squash soup. More of a winter dish, but I was in the mood for it.

I must say that I am enjoying all the this area of FL has to offer in the way of wildlife. It is so vastly different than my home in NJ, but just as beautiful in a different way. I love being so close to the ocean, and the fact that there is so much preserved green/wild space here makes it really quite beautiful. As with all moves, hubs and I are both going through some adjustments, but I am finding much to like.

Thanks so much for stopping by...

Debbi

PS: Foot update: slowly improving. I am wearing real shoes on BOTH feet now which is a big step (pun intended) in the right direction. Now, I just have to exercise a little restraint until it's fully healed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.