Signal

After the unexpected discussion of Trafalgar day that ensued from CanCarrier's blip last night, I did glance up at Calton Hill on my way to the station early this morning, but there was no sign of flags. Weather not permitting, I assumed (since it was blowing a bit of a gale already).

I went down to Newcastle, my journey much improved by meeting Sandra and getting a seat in 1st class, with a cup of coffee and free wifi too! I spent a rather short day in the office, since I discovered that the sole of one of my boots had finally parted company with its upper and I had to find a shoe shop. Huh - well, found one, but no shoes that I even remotely liked. Oh, how I hate shopping. Luckily there were no puddles to walk through on the way home.

I got onto a bus opposite Waverley Steps, went upstairs and, just before the bus took off from the traffic lights, noticed that the Nelson memorial was indeed bedecked with flags. So this was a very quick snap, through the bus window, over someone's shoulder. "England expects every man to do his duty", is what the flags say, apparently. Strange thing to see in Scotland, eh?

In other news, I can't work out why, on Waverley station this morning, I suddenly got an earworm of a WWI song - maybe I'm sending myself a message. Perhaps writing it down will help get rid of it:

When this bloody war is over
No more soldiering for me
When I get my civvy clothes on
Oh, how happy I shall be.
No more church parades on Sunday
No more putting in for leave
I shall kiss the sergeant major;
How he'll miss me. How he'll grieve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.