PaulineW

By PaulineW

Orchid pest

Hospital this morning to see my Consultant, then sleep for most of the afternoon. Oops - no blip.

I was given this orchid a couple of months ago, and it has just suddenly started to lose all its flowers at once. Looking very closely at it, I can see tiny scales on the petals, and some of the leaves - nasty pest but fortunately fairly easy to deal with. The best thing I have found for it in the past is washing the leaves with a weak solution of washing up liquid and rinsing well. The other thing I should have done is examine the plant closely when I received it - fortunately it has not been close enough to my other orchids to cause a problem but I had better remain vigilant.

However, it has made a reasonable blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.