A day of several halves

It's been a rather odd day. I managed to slip over on the tiles outside the bathroom late last night after having a shower (wet feet, yes, I know) and although it wasn't a bad fall it left me shaken up enough not to sleep very well. I was also disturbed by the fact that the broadband wasn't working when we got back from Rijeka, and I knew I was supposed to be skyping someone at 9.30am this morning and I wasn't sure how to get the message to them that I wasn't going to be "there".

Indeed, this morning there still wasn't any broadband, so the priority was using my phone as a hotspot to send a couple of emails to the owner of the flat and to my fellow skyper. And then the University email system wasn't playing ball.

All of this was accomplished - sort of - to the accompaniment of an enormous storm, starting with "dry" thunder and lightening (the worst in my view), followed by rain of biblical proportions.

Things started to look up when Mr A dived down to the market to forage for today's dinner (being cooked as we speak) and we followed that up with morning coffee in a local cafe which has wifi (they all do) where we caught up with some essential online activities. All along the weather was gradually improving. And by the time we got back, the broadband was fixed.

After a lunch snack of burek I wandered over the University in what - by then - was brilliant sunshine to find my new office and have coffee with a couple of colleagues. All that went fine, except that I was disturbed to discover that the box of books which I've had shipped hasn't yet turned up (subsequent investigation has revealed that it arrived this morning in Zagreb, so it should be along shortly).

Later on we pottered over to the west side of the peninsula to catch the sunset, as well as the sea organ in full voice. Mr A took some video, so watch out for a link to that over on his blip journal.

I have to say I'm not entirely happy with this photograph. I should have placed the point of focus much closer to the corner where the jetty met the sea front, and consequently more of the splash and droplets would have been in focus. But for a first effort I didn't think it was too bad. Mr A said he liked it, but I did wonder if he was just being kind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.