An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

'In a Bit of a Spin!' - Salisbury Fair 2

Firstly, I am so sorry for my mega moan yesterday - I'm thoroughly ashamed. I've never had such a whinge on Blip before and if I ever do again, report me and have me forcibly removed from Blip!

Having said that, I was deeply touched by everything said. In my defence I must have been really riled to let rip like that. I did consider deleting the Blip but too many had already commented and that would have been rude and inconsiderate.

I chilled out yesterday evening by playing a recently bought (2nd hand) DVD of Peter Gabriel's 'Video Hits'. Such an intelligent and gifted musician and of course, some of the most memorable vids, ever, such as "Sledgehammer".

I didn't, I'm afraid, respond to any of the comments or even acknowledge the huge number of Favourites, that eventually got the Blip right up to the top of Spotlights. It's still currently no. 2

I had planned to do that today but I think that, after a good night's sleep, I was under a headache then migraine, which finally subsided just as the daylight was disappearing this evening. So, after going out getting this Blip today and shopping for dinner, means I've still not individually thanked or replied to you. But a huge one, all round, to everybody.

TODAY's

Another fisheye image, I'm afraid. But I do like to try to do this Fair a bit differently each time it visits. Most of the Fair are the same rides, from year to year and it is pointless to get the same shots each time. Last Year's too was with a fisheye, but a circular one and it was so popular, it was used by Blip HQ on Twitter and Facebook.

To answer a technical question or two, I find that I can get a reasonable success rate handholding this fisheye at 1/3 sec. I always take loads, as it's often a combination of elements within that picture working that makes the choice rather than just one.

This 'Rock'n'Roller' ride here, started off slowly and really whizzed round at a blinding speed! Unlike yesterday's where I could push the heavy camera into my face to help stabilise it, I was poking the stubby lens through narrow netting. This meant a much less stable stance but despite its near half second exposure, it hasn't come out too badly - looks like something from a sci-fi film! And I enjoyed getting it a lot more today.

A tripod wouldn't have leant forward enough and as I have often said, I no longer carry the burden of a tripod round the fair. It's busy enough as it is and frankly, unfair on those with buggies and stuff to have to watch out for tripod legs, which would often get kicked, as I have found out in the past.

It looks tempting to place the camera on the outside of a ride's structure. It sure looks stable and static. But no, it's like a washing machine, the interior drum is spinning but the shell shakes and vibrates like a belly dancer in a sandstorm...

DERELICT THURSDAY CHALLENGE Tomorrow

As usual, please tag ALL entries 'derelict Thursday' (without inverted commas) - looking forward to all your entries!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.