How can it take all day?

Spent most of the day sorting through a box full of old magazines. They date from fifty years ago, from 1962 to 1969 when I subscribed to Elizabethan, a monthly teenage magazine. Well, I was only nine when my parents decided it would be a good thing for me to read. I think they despaired of my ever reading anything meatier than Noddy! That said, I read very little of the magazines (you can lead a horse to water ... etc), but I did turn avidly to the competitions page every month. And I kept winning prizes - usually of ten shillings (an Absolute Fortune to me!) - and once, a hardback newly-published children's novel.

At that time I wanted to be a writer and/or illustrator when I grew up, so my prizes were for artwork or writing. And, grown up, at least I achieved one of my ambitions. So, here is just one example of my prize-winning history. I chose this for two reasons: 1. it was the first time I had a win, and 2. through printing in capitals I managed to miss the K out of my surname. And Barer is the barest you'll see me!

PS I notice my rather unimaginative 'dream room' contains a dressing-up box: something I never had. Well, I've got a pretty full wardrobe now, so I can't complain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.