WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Culture

... is the word of the day today. This roofline window is so very French that I thought it was appropriate. Plus it's one of only two photos I took today, and it's too late to take any more.

My cultural activity today was the book group I joined recently. I'm glad to have found one, but I think the format doesn't work too well. Instead of everyone reading the same book and discussing it, one or two people talk about books they have read. I decided to go for an 80s theme and talked about one of my favourite novels, Jonathan Coe's What a Carve-Up! No-one else seemed to be tempted by my description, but I thoroughly enjoyed re-reading it -- I still think it's brilliant after all these years. And I followed up with Rumours of a Hurricane, which treats the same time period in a very different way. Someone else told us about John Healy's The Grass Arena, which does sound like an interesting if harrowing read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.