Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Ross: Open wide….x

Equine Dentist Jamie Martin treats one of his many patients today, at Over ross livery in Ross on Wye. Our little cob, Jack was also in for having the sharp edges of his teeth removed. Horses teeth are very different from humans, but I guess we all suffer with abscesses, plaque and teeth growing in strange directions. If untreated in horses, you would perhaps see the horse lose condition.

In the wild, Jamie tells me that it would just die of hunger and malnutrition. Clearly our fat little cob, jack has no worries in that department. I am always surprised how well the horse takes to having its teeth clamped open. Perhaps shock and surprise. Jamie tells me, that he hasn't has a horse objected too violently yet. I suspect that Jamie's calm and professional approach has a lot to do with it. An interesting and unusual job and I guess a bit different from a human dentist!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.