analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Downtime.

We have what Blipfoto calls "journals" in which we are to document the daily ebb and flow of our lives. Sometimes the day just doesn't provide a Barnack Award-winning photograph but it does offer an event which can be recorded in the journal. This was such a day.
I know that the uninitiated must be asking, "What the #*&%$ is a "Downtime Kit"? And I shall explain: From time to time our patient chart-keeping software crashes. When this happens the orders which physicians put in for x-ray exams are not communicated to the radiology software which keeps track of what patient is to have which exam. It can get complicated since the patient's information has to be entered manually into the x-ray computer and there's plenty of opportunity for error. This is a "Downtime". Once the study is complete, the images must be hooked back up with the patient's record, but that can only be done once the "downtime" is over and the software is back up and running. Today there was a downtime for about an hour and I had to dig out the "Downtime Kit"... I will add that I was amused by the added instruction on the folder; I know whence came that Shakespearean prose. As I was reconciling the medical record numbers and accession numbers at the end of the evening, the words of the song came to me: With apologies to Petula Clark's 1964 hit, "When you're all alone and EPIC goes down, that's Downtime... Downtime!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.