Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Break in the Clouds

I was looking in the rear view mirror on the way to work and spotted a break in the clouds on the eatern horizon, just before sunrise. You have to take advantage of such opportunities so pulled over and walked up a bridle path to the top of a local hill (only a few yards).

The problem with this sort of shot is that all of the bright light is on the horizon. To balance this I had bought a Hitech reversed 3 stop ND grad and used it for one of the first times. I may need to take it back, it was hardly neutral density, with a strong purple cast to the resultant image. Fortunately the benefit of Lightroom and Photoshop soon cleared the colour cast I was really pleased to get some detail on the foreground, suggesting I got the filter position about right.

Velux, who run the Lovers of Light Competition have posted a short story about our recent holiday prize to Svalbard on their website.

I've just been told this year's competition starts on Saturday. You can get a sneak preview of the prizes here (although you can't start to enter until the weekend).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.