You Can't See Me; I'm Hidden Behind This Tree!

It was a gray and overcast morning but it was still beautiful at the marsh. I had the feeling that someone would be waiting for me, and there she was, looking lovely and tawny: a female white-tailed deer. I saw her before my feet even hit the bridge over Thompson Run.

She thought she was hidden behind a tiny tree that had lost all of its leaves, but I saw her anyway. She stood stock-still, watching me carefully, perhaps a bit warily. But the only thing I was shooting with was my Canon, so she was safe.

The blue kingfisher was sitting on its usual branch over the run, but it was uncharacteristically silent on this morning. I guess it hadn't had its second cup of coffee yet. The air is usually filled with its raucous laughter when it is about. But not today.

The boardwalk is littered with the remains of nuts that have fallen from the trees. Many have been eaten by squirrels or other critters. Here and there, little dark piles of the shells remain. I bet they got dirty paws out of that!

So there is the full report from Millbrook. The deer are wary and tawny. The blue kingfisher is silent. And the squirrels all have dirty paws. I think that'll do for an update on this day. :-)

The song . . . It just has to be Deer Prudence; I mean, Dear Prudence. I'm including links to both the original Beatles version and a cover by Dana Fuchs from the soundtrack to the film Across the Universe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.