GERLINDE PHONED

to wish Piet Hein a happy birthday and sing a Ständchen for him. Unfortunately I had to tell her that he was nit here with me, but in The Hague celebrating with Mischa.
She asked if I was all alone then? And I answered her that the raccoons were there and the birds, the butterflies (yes indeed on this mild sunny day they came again and visited the few flowers that are still there) and then there were the bees and the hoverfly (almost leaving after her visit) in my picture.
I was pleased with Gerlinde's call and hope we will soon meet again.
I awoke only at nine o'clock, a clear sign that I needed that sleep. Only little tasks I did perform, enjoyed the sunshine on a chair outside, read a bit in Aldous Huxley's book: Along the Road, Notes and Essays of a Tourist. Such a long time since I enjoyed reading the many books he wrote. His biting style, his outlook on the world. Amazing!
I walked down the valley to go to the supermarket. Coming back from there I felt tired and just sat and looked at my pictures of the day.
Mischa helped choose my picture, so handy she can see them on flickr and can give her meaning by phone.
I celebrate now alone, listening to a concert by Jose Carreras and Katia Ricciarelli.
Listening to their heavenly voices, Ricchiarelli especially.

My haiku:

Leave me, leave me now
But come back as soon as you
Can, with a present

And the proverb:

I will not pull the thorn out of your foot and put it in my own.

1633 in D. Dyke's Philemon.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.