The Window Sweeper

I broke my journey into work on the early train this morning for a rendezvous at Burley-in-Wharfedale with the delightful WharfedaleBex. We walked a circuit on the moor which took in The Hut, which is a special place (quite independently) for the both of us. I feel very honoured to have been involved in Bex's introduction to blip, through a mutual friend. We had never met before today ... although through a deep respect for each other's photography I think we both felt that we knew each other quite well already. We commented on how it is possible to get a very strong sense of a person through the pictures they post. It truly is a window into the soul! Bex was exactly the gentle, fiercely intelligent and adventurous soul that I was expecting to meet.

We did a lot of talking ... and very little photography. I know you're all going to be bitterly disappointed that I haven't posted a picture of this lovely blipper! Sorry folks. I was just distracted by the most engaging of conversation - combined with a certain ineptitude at taking pictures that are less than spontaneous.

I was reflecting on that this afternoon. My worst nightmare would be having to take photos at a wedding. I never seem to do very well on the rare occasions that I set out to take a specific photograph. I like reacting to what I see as I go about my life, trying to capture moments of coherence as they emerge briefly from the background of chaos, before they disappear again just as fleetingly. You have to be quick. It's completely instinctive - like yesterday. I had the camera at my waist and just shot blind. A bit of luck and a bit of skill, and perhaps most importantly, not a lot of thought. Perhaps it's that lack of thinking that lets the magic in!

Thank you so very much for all the love for Barbara. Once again I'm incredibly touched by your generosity. I think Barbara would be touched too. She is a pretty special lady.

As for this shot, I was struggling for a blip today when during the afternoon I noticed a ladder being placed against my office window. I could hear someone starting to climb so I grabbed my camera (by instinct again) and went to the window. It was our maintenance man trying to sort out a leak. He was pretty much caught in the cross-wires. I couldn't resist!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.