Gifts of Grace

By grace

Drift

Drift. Long shore drift. A new term introduced to me by blipchum gladders a few days back. Eastward drift, driven by the prevailing Westerlies.

Last week this chunk of tree had conveniently settled in the burn close to its western bank, giving me a new perch where I could sit with my wellie-boots in the burn.

The big winds in the last few days have shifted it bodily onto the eastern bank. Will I try to move it back, Canute-like? Sisyphus-like. Or follow it on its progress Eastward? Likely the latter, 'though it did feel good to be able to sit IN the burn.

Am drifting a little myself. Disturbed sleep, vivid, interesting dreams, waking early. Tired and chilled post-swim. Fell sound asleep for three hours.

Changing gears, drifting into the dark days.

♯am reading/writing
♯am swimming


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.