Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

Memories....

Spent most of the day emptying kitchen cupboards - why does a single woman need so much crockery? This reminded me of my childhood - I used to spend every school holiday with my aunt in the country and every Easter holiday included spring cleaning. I loved doing the china - on either side of the kitchen range were alcove cupboards with shelves right up to the ceiling filled with china and cookware. Each piece had to be taken out,washed and dried, the shelf lining paper removed, the shelf washed, new paper put on and the china replaced. The everyday green china was on the bottom shelves and the Sunday best on the upper shelves. I remember one tea set which had fuchsias on and my aunt had embroidered a tablecloth to match it - I have the tablecloth but not the china. My favourite, though, was this little early morning tea set. I believe it dates from my uncle's mother's wedding, so that puts it about 1910 at the latest. It is really fine china - the photograph doesn't really do it justice - it has a pearlescent glaze, soft blue on the outside and gold inside. I loved this and occasionally I was served tea in bed with this set on a tray with a lace tray cloth. The only housework I really enjoy is washing up - it must date from this early spring cleaning I suppose!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.