Finite Energy

I never thought I'd post a photo of a power station, but I wanted to visit this place before its famous twin chimneys get the Fred Dibnah treatment. Its demise has been anticipated for several months, but every time I look across from Portobello, it's still standing. Demolition work is underway, and I asked the gatehouse guard when the chimneys are scheduled to be felled. He said if he had a pound for every time someone has asked him that, he wouldn't be sitting in that little box.

I also had a strange conversation about the place with a passing local. He said he'd never understood why they went to all the bother of shipping in coal, only to burn it to turn it into steam and then eventually get electricity. He reckoned it was far too complicated, and all they needed to do was use the electricity that was already in the national grid. I kept pressing him, sure I'd misunderstood what he meant, but he really did think they could just plug in the power station. Using a special adaptor available from B&Q, I expect. It's always good to meet someone who is even more clueless about technology than I am.

Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.