One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Evolve

into oblivion.
Another Monday. Another small business that bites the dust.
R.I.P. Walsh's Wines (on the right).
There is a sad predictability about the number of shops that progress smoothly from slow trading to sudden death.

And I cannot help feeling a degree of responsibility in what happened there.
I have bought wine twice only from Walsh's.

And only yesterday I was recommending to Nana a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc at a mere EUR7.50 in the local Tesco [index fingers in the sign of the cross at the mention of the Great Evil Force in the retail business]
She was there at 9.30 this morning, trying to buy 10 bottles (it normally retails at twice the price and compares really well with the Oyster Bay).
She was told that the licensing hours did not permit the sale of alcohol before 11.00am.
She was back at 11.01am to get her 10 bottles.
They must have thought that she badly needed her fix.

I'll have to remember to vehemently deny any sort of connection with the lady with the strange curly hair and strong French accent.
I have a reputation to preserve in my local supermarket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.