Screw You Dolores

I had a meeting in Nelson today and managed to talk the other attendees into a long lunch break so that I could attend Sarah-Kate Lynch's talk at The Granary Cafe.

For those of you who don't know her - Sarah-Kate is a New Zealand author - she writes very entertaining novels and also has a weekly column in a NZ magazine. Her last book, "Screw You Dolores" and her new release, "Heavenly Hirani's School of Laughing Yoga," were the focus of the talk. Very enjoyable and well worth the extended lunch break.

The Granary Cafe is decorated with butterflies - beautiful swathes of them in various colours and forms. I particularly liked this display in a dark corner - bright blue butterflies clustered over old bird cages.

NOTE: It was weird today glancing down at last year's thumbnail and seeing Blaze's coffin. I hadn't 'forgotten' it in any way but I had managed to 'bury' some of the events of that week last year. At least remembering all the messages people wrote on his coffin brought a smile to my face today. One of my favourites was one you can't see - one of his cousins wrote "Get Well Soon" on the bottom right under his head. Sick sense of humour I know but it was only because of moments like that that I was able to get through that time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.