Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Bear Books

Our day to pick up Fiona from School. Rainy and stormy, we stayed in. I had asked her to bring The Three Bears book that Boppa read to her a few weeks back because I didn’t get a chance to read it —so her Mom sent 3 Goldilocks books. Which we read.
Goldilocks (upper right) is the original fairy tale, sort 0f - Goldilocks has dreadlocks but the bears all leave porridge for her to eat.
Goldie - (this is the one I was looking for )is a take off on the fairy tale —Goldy finds a bear’s house, but they have left sandwiches for her to eat and she becomes good friends with baby bear.
Mr. Wolf and the Three Bears - another take off - the Wolfs are having a party and make all kinds of food for the bears and also Goldilocks who crashes the party, to eat. Fiona says it was pie in this one.
Bear Snores On - we didn't read this today but it has been a very favorite with all the grandchildren and I needed a 4th book for that corner. :-) Wanted to play with my new Topaz remask plugin.
The Two Mothers is a book a friend wrote and I illustrated with linocuts in 1997. Fiona would barely look at this one! “Where are the colors? she says. It’s a very cute true story of two mother grizzlies catching salmon and getting their cubs a bit mixed up. I had the 4 books on the floor (not The Bear Snores On) to take one picture but she wouldn’t let me do that - she is sitting on the 3 Goldilocks and theThree Bears books- but I did ask if she would just hold the one she doesn’t care about please. So she did. :-)

I did have some good adult time with a very fine birthday lunch for a friend! and now I’m ready to take my cough to bed!

Don Giovanni Review: It was good but not great in my opinion. Something about the production didn't quite gel for either of us. Same sets as 7 years ago - it was pretty dull to look at. Mozart is Mozart tho - who could not love this music... Of course this season was all planned so nothing for the new director one might think. Well, our friend who ushers told us of all sorts of new rules for them --they have to stand at their door the whole time except for 1/2 of each act when they have to be inside looking out for anyone video taping the production and stopping it!! On opening night none of the 90 toilets worked due to construction in the area -- the water was turned off - that was the director's first performance - he got them turned on 5 minutes before intermission!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.