Road works and construction sites....

Had an interesting morning driving around town this morning.

Firstly we had really, really strong winds all night, and alot of the day today. I was out early dropping Ella to school and then onto drop paints off to one of our job sites. Then I had to go to another site to pick some things up. It was while I was driving to this place that I had a funny incident.....

I was the first car in a line of traffic driving down a fairly busy street, came across the usual sight of neon orange road cones etc, just drove thru the lines of cones, and then realized that I had come to a stop with the on-coming traffic now taking up the whole road! I was right outside a school ( it was 8.50am, lots of activity at the school crossing) and had no where to go..stuck! I called out the window to a lady that was manning the school crossing and asked her if the road was closed?? She yelled back that it was, the sign saying so was meters behind me..what sign I said??
By now there were about 20 cars behind me all stuck like me!
Turns out that the strong winds had knocked down the "No Entry-road closed" sign,....we all had to do 26 point turns while the school lady stopped the traffic coming the 'right' way..quite funny really, everyone took it well! You have to here in Christchurch with all the EQ roadwork repairs going on..

I later ended up at the supermarket, one I haven't been to for a while...so it seemed as half the carpark is now a huge construction site for a bigger supermarket. The huge drilling machines were putting in foundations etc, they have to go down so deep underground now to be able to support the buildings to higher EQ safety standards. Really impressive work going on.

Now it is the long weekend..Dave has gone away with a group of kayakers to the Sounds, Ella and I are home alone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.