Reality!

If you watch TV you may have seen Ice Truckers. Here it is for real. We encountered quite a few today. I did get some dynamic images of the trucks on the Atigun Pass but posted that image of the caribou - that really was a oncer.

You can see a small section of the enormous Trans-Alaska Pipeline on the right of the image.

We're now back in Fairbanks, with the Twin Otter plane finally arriving for us in Kaktovik last night, and leaving in the dark, scraping out with winds gusting to 36mph, back to Deadhorse. We then had 6 hours drive down the James Dalton Highway (or Haul Rd) to Wiseman, arriving there about 2.30 am. I've marked the road on the map, but you'll need something larger if you're really interested. Phew. Yes we saw aurora on the way, briefly, but then it started to snow. Probably just as well, we were late enough! We did see aurora on the way north though. We had 5 hours sleep and then left for Fairbanks first thing this morning.

What an adventure I've had! So lucky. Many of you have expressed an interest in what I've done up here in the Arctic. You can find details of the Photo Tour I did with Patrick Endres and Hugh Rose here.
I can't speak highly enough of them both. Would I do it again? Definitely. Want to come?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.