Central Library

Yes, before you agree with my blip editor who will say as he looks at today's entry, "but you've done this before" which I have many times, let me make my excuses.

I love this view of the Central Library from Greyfriar's Kirkyard, not only because it is a stone's throw from the Dower House, but because of the lofty grandeur of the building and its iconic roof which I tried to sketch yesterday.

From its main entrance on George IV bridge there is a climb of possible 4 storeys to the Fine Art Library while the building descends from street level down to the Cowgate, a huge drop.

On this beautiful autumn morning with sunshine and warm light, the trees in the graveyard are losing their leaves giving me a clear view of the old town and the castle from where I stand amongst the ancient graves.

Today it does not seem such a dismal place for those incumbents lying here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.