Spanish Steps

It looked too much of a challenge to clear the people off the Spanish Steps here in Rome, so I tried to make the most of their presence! As a purist, I don't like the extension 'selfie' arms that you can buy on every tourist street corner. A big element of a selfie is people squeezing into the frame (quite an icebreaker in itself sometimes), and the physical act of pressing the trigger with all the laugh-producing contortions involved; a combination of photography and Twister! This rent-an-arm thing just doesn't do it for me!

Coached before dawn at IESE, before a quick change of clothes at home and a flight to Rome. I have a nine hour wait for the onward flight to Cairo (any bets on it being longer!), so with Dd's agreement I came into the centre for lunch...neither of us have been here before so I didn't want to possibly take away from the excitement a future joint discovery. We both thought it was a no brainer, though - it wasn't as if I was going to run round all the sights before tea time, just these steps and the Trevi Fountains which are dry at the moment and under scaffolding!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.