youngies journey

By youngie66

On Yon Bonny Banks

Well it was time to do what I have been planning for a while along with some help from blip sub JoppaStrand when I mentioned I was going to travel some branch lines around Scotland that I have never traveled before JoppaStrand mentiond another one which I shall do tomorrow all going to plan but my rail blips I will put in a folio section tomorrow anyway as I'm so lucky in the fact I have free rail passes courtesy of starting my railway career in the days of (BR) British Rail I can go anywhere I want so today I decided to head up to Balloch Branch which is the end of the line next to Loch Lomond although the line did go right down to Balloch Pier station which closed in 1986 sadly I'm not sure the reasoning behind it but no doubt it was the wrong one anyway it would have been nice if the weather had been nicer and Balloch Pier station was still there but it wasn't and as usual recently I have been getting damp with rain and low mist hovering over Loch Lomond and a few of my other blips oh well all in the name of blip anyway I got the Edinburgh to Helensburgh train via Bathgate and got off at Dumbarton central to await my next train to go to Balloch so all went to plan apart from the dreary weather but anyway it was a choice of blips of this or the Maid Of The Loch berthed at the pier as my railway one was of my train berthed at the buffers so that will go in my folio as I liked the feeling of emptyness in this shot with the cruise ship Astina taking a party of tourists on a trip up Loch Lomond to Luss or wherever anyway I still enjoyed my day on the Bonny Bonny banks of Loch Lomond even in this weather and another branch line chalked off on my dwindling list of lines left in Scotland to travel over and two more will be chalked off tomorrow all going to plan anyway movie for the day is "The Legend Of Loch Lomond 2001" Looks nice BIG as well See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.