Number 600

Well, there you have it: Blip 600. 600 days ago I somehow managed to do my first Blip! I hadn't got a clue what I was doing. Didn't know what to photograph. Didn't know what to say about it. I think I've made a bit of progress since then with the help of so many of you fellow Blippers and Super Handyman Husband.

I also feel as if I've made lots of new friends - some human, some furry - and become part of such an interesting and supportive community.

THANK YOU ALL!

I was hoping to be able to blip something spectacular today but it's been a grey autumnal day. We've walked a long way (about 4 hours of walking) in search of that something amazing. We started off at Merlewood up the valley towards Newby Bridge away from Grange and then walked along the promenade past Kent Bank and on towards Humphrey Head. It was by Kent Bank that I took this shot.

It was about 15 minutes before high tide and there was still an expanse of green salt marsh to be seen. There were little glimmers of sunlight here and there amidst the rain clouds and there was the power station (Is that Heysham? I don't know) making an interesting bump on the horizon right across the other side of Morecambe Bay. Iis it a blot on the landscape? I don't know. We need power don't we? We also need beauty of our natural landscape to feed our souls.

I've thought a lot today about Gladders and Gus - Arnside Knott has been in evidence all day today, and Trev, Ros and Chloe who sent me the link to their blip of the guided walk across the Bay from last year - all part of Blipfoto - all encouraging me to try to do better!

So that's it really. Here's to the next 600. More heartfelt journalling, more attempts at improving the photography, more attempts at tracing significant moments in my life and the lives of those around me and hopefully some more blip meets. Thank you Blipfoto for being here and thank you Vicar Paul for telling me about Blipfoto in the first place.

I will raise a glass to all blippers everywhere tonight.

Big 600

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.