String of Hearts

I have made a descision today!
I am NOT going to spend this winter moaning and whinging about how much I hate the weather / dark / lack of insects! Instead I am going to challenge myself to look creatively for exciting blips to bring you, from now until the clocks go forward again in March and spring is here again!
I went out today and brought some props so I can 'play' around with some ideas I have for portraits......so watch this space!!!
Today's blip is one of the tiny and very unusual flowers on the string of hearts plant that grows in my conservatory. I think it is really interesting, as the black hairy bit on the top always fools me into thinking it is the legs of a lurking spider!!
The String of hearts, Rosary vine, or Sweetheart vine Ceropegia linearis subsp woodii has slender twining stems and pretty heart-shaped leaves with grey/green or purple markings. When the vines are mature , (typically 12 inches or longer) they produce these exotic lantern-like flowers with an unusual dark purplish parachute on top.
It is extremely easy to grow, and makes a brilliant houseplant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.