dwalletta

By dwalletta

Entangled

Edinburgh is marking the 2ooth anniversary of Sir Walter Scott's historical novel, Waverley, by plastering his quotations all around the railway station (also called Waverley). Thanks to fellow blippers for pointing them out - otherwise I suspect I'd have trampled over them without noticing.

In other news daughter sent me a text this morning -"I may have got a bit confused and told my friends that you played at the same gig as Phil Collins. It wasn't him was it?!"

Close, but it was a different Phil, who was never the lead singer with Genesis as far as I know. When young, I fancied myself as Edinburgh's own Joni Mitchell. The problem was, I was crap. A local fiddler called Phil Cunningham was just starting out too, and we had a mutual pal who organised a tiny gig for both of us. Phil went on to become a well known Scottish folk musician, and I went on to become.....an accountant.

And I've no idea how my daughter got it into her head that I might have been just a bit more famous than I actually was.

Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.