Sydney

By Sydney

Mom's birthday remembrance 2014

As some of you may recall, last year I 'adopted' wee Gus as a nod to my mother's birthday, a day I still wish to celebrate with her though she passed away 4 years ago last spring. Wee Gus is a treasure that she would have enthusiastically embraced as her love of dogs was only rivaled by her love of handmade pottery.

Some of the pieces she chose for herself possessed a charm the rest of us missed entirely, I must confess, and they live with me now, it feeling wrong to give them away. It is enough that my mother loved these pieces, that they made her laugh when she found them, pleased her as she carried them home and engaged her sense of humor as she placed them in the world that she shared with my father and the rest of us. So I cherish them as well.

These earrings are lavender sapphires, and they are my gift to mom for this year as they reminded me of the lavender star sapphire pendent she was given by family friends when she was 4 years old and had her tonsils out. She gave me that pendent when I was little and I have treasured it always, finding it miraculous that stars could be kept inside a stone. My mother was such a miracle as this and I am so deeply grateful to her and miss her every day.

Now I must post this quickly and attend to poor Wee Gus, I can hear my mother telling me he looks ridiculous and I must restore his dignity!

Big storm coming tonight~60-70 mile per hour winds predicted. Candles at the ready and my Kindle's charged. That she was my mother is reason enough for me to believe a sunrise will always follow a storm.
So all is well here. Prayers that all goes well with you where ever you may be. xo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.