Death Row Diner

A few week's ago I went to visit my university chum, Bob, in Liverpool. Before we settled down to a boozy afternoon, we had a look around his latest project, which, at that point, was just a building site.

Tonight the Minx and I were off to a gig in Liverpool, so we decided to start our evening at Bob's new place, Death Row Diner, which opened last night. It has been transformed in the last five weeks, as you might expect, and now it looks amazing.

I can't imagine how stressful it must be launching a venture like that but the cocktails and food were amazing, and I loved the art on walls, which included a quote from Nick Cave's 'The Mercy Seat' and also this, by Robert Montgomery. If you live in Liverpool or you're visiting, I highly recommend it: you can find it on Hope Street, just next door to Fredericks.

Originally, Bob was going to come to the gig with us but then it became apparent that the dates would clash with the launch of the diner, so I invited another university friend, Ian. The gig itself was not bad: it was one of those nostalgia packages, which I would normally avoid, but the combination of Blancmange and Heaven 17 in a small venue was irresistible. Blancmange - really just Neil Arthur with two guys playing synths - were fun and enjoyable but I was a bit disappointed by Heaven 17. It was a bit... Butlins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.