Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

My Little Feathered Friends Return to the Feeder

Dear Diary,

It took a 3 day Nor'easter and days of less and less sunlight but the birds are back to my feeders. The first one I saw was Mr. Purple Finch and he stayed still long enough for me to make a photograph of him. Only the males have this beautiful raspberry coloring.

I am always so pleased when the birds come to the sanctuary of the feeding area on my back porch. I know that things are getting more difficult for them now that fall is entering its final stage and I am happy to be their "food bank".

No sight of Gaylord, my grey squirrel, yet but he will be back I'm sure in due course. He's probably busy building his winter nest. I've got a few more winter preparations myself and I'm glad the week ahead is forecast to be mild.

Birds are a miracle because they prove to us there is a finer, simpler state of being which we may strive to attain.

Douglas Coupland

Welcoming back old friends...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.