horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Dirty Weekend

Back to Cross. That was tough, not least because of the howling gale coming off the sea (one point in the course had you cresting a little rise, and on a couple of laps I wound up simply trackstanding while trying to push forward). Tougher still for a fellow competitor who came off just before I rounded a corner on the first lap. Another guy went to get a marshall and help, while I stayed with the downed rider, the reason being he was pretty confident he'd broken his ankle (and at the very least knackered the tendons) as his toes hit first causing the ankle to hyper-extend horribly.

Lost the best part of a lap waiting with him, but to be honest I can't use that as an excuse for coming dead last (which I think I did) as I was probably on for that anyway. But there were some high points - I managed to ride the sand section every lap bar one; I don't think I was lapped that many times (it was a long course); I rode up the zig-zag climb more times than I didn't; and rode the big dipper on all but one lap when I stalled on the steep side out. Oh, and my knee survived (though my bad arm was complaining near the end).

It's just such a good scene, I love this sport. Back riding in four weeks, so time for a little training.

Zig-a-Zag
By the Seaside
Sandy
Top of the Climb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.