Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Otterly Adorable!

How could I possibly NOT blip an otter? These are one of the most universally appealing creatures in the world, I think. Who doesn't love their inquisitive little faces and their playful demeanor? And who doesn't get excited when they actually spot one in the wild? There were actually three of them swimming and playing in one of the lakes at Boca Ciega this morning. Being totally captivated, I stood as still as possible in the brush at the edge of the lake and just watched them while snapping shots. I chose this one because I like the way he/she is looking right at me.

Had I not encountered the otters, I would definitely have blipped the gorgeous Wood Stork who was in the same pond. I'm quite fascinated with wood storks and spent a lot of time photographing it. It was interesting to watch it fish - it would extend one wing over the water (casting shade?) and use one large foot to stir up the water. I also saw several of those gorgeous roseate skimmer dragons today, too. One of them was having a meal so of course I got some shots of that.

I also saw quite a large alligator pulled up on the shore at another lake at BC. and a great blue heron with a bad taste in his moth...and a bunch of contentious fiddler crabs. All in all, a very good morning! I posted 10 photos on Flickrstarting HERE with the roseate skimmer and finishing up with a mono great egret.

Thanks for all the lovely comments on yesterdays non-bird. :)

Happy Tuesday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.