memento

By memento

The Little Ninja on your shoulder

Hello! I'm coming up for air.............

This could go down as the most comfy Halloween costume I've ever made. Its 8 year old owner did NOT want me to fiddle with upholstery foam in order to create an authentic, boxy Lego look; she wanted to be a sleek and stealthy White Ninja.

Not a single upholstery, drapery supplier or fabric store in this lame city had a brown, thick cord which forced me to cut 80 feet of paracord into 8 strands and braid it myself. I now have Navy Seal skills. All attempts at making the brooch out of leather failed due to glue oozing-thankfully I discovered the leftover felt from the bluppet project and layered, stitched and painted it heavily with gold and bronze acrylic. Proof that one should never throw away any craft materials. Ever.

It is being delivered today, not a day to soon; Friday is Halloween. Today: cooking, cleaning, baking for the party here Friday night and pulling together my own hippie costume. I LOVE Halloween, more than any other holiday, more than all the other holidays combined. More than chocolate.

When I told my 3 year old friend that I'm going to be a hippie with long hair for Halloween, he said that hippos don't have long hair. Can't argue with that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.