A PICTURESQUE SIGHT

of a window. Seen on my short walk.
In the morning I did my garden job, and became aware that despite a scheme it will be much more work than I eventually thought it would be.
But that of course is no problem, I'll have plenty of time the coming four days while still here and the second half of november when we will have returned.
It is a kind of jungle and it will stay that way probably, but if I would do nothing it would be worse every second.
The birds love it, I noticed.
I have a faint fear that I could not cope later when I am eighty years old or more.
A hopeful sign nevertheless, our neighbours a couple of houses away are 90 and I see them in the garden every day for keeping it in order.
Que sera, sera?!

My haiku:

Peep through the window
See a couple of old people
Is that you and me?

And the proverb:

Keep something for the sore foot.

1721 in Kelly, 226.
....Preserve somthing for age, distress and necessity.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.