Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

From Monarch's Way

I'll drive off from the house sometimes, with the option of a session at the gym or photographic walk. Now, I really should make sure i get my regular exercise but as I drove along the M54 the sky held promise of a great sunrise, yet again.

So as it came time to turn off towards the club, I kept going straight on towards the open countryside. Well this time the weather conspired and by the time I pulled up next to White Ladies Priory, cloud had filled in the sky. Too late to go back to the Gym I went for a walk along the Monarch's Way, a long distance trail based on Charles II escape route in 1651 after his defeat at the Battle of Worcester This scene is very close to the site of the Royal Oak at Boscobel, where the king hid from roundheads. There are a lot of pubs named after this tree, although the oak now there is not the original.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.