Auction house

Woken up this morning by the cat litter delivery. Two twenty litre bags which I could hardly lift. I had to drag them into the garage.

I have two Beswick china shire horses which had belonged to Douglas's Dad and I have been mulling over whether to put them into a local auction of Beswick china which is coming up soon. I decided to go ahead so I made the trip to the auction house today.

Got the bus to Newcastle and then I bought a years Metro travel for £12 to add to my concessionary bus pass. Its a good deal. I will be " ahead of the game " before very long. Then I got the Metro to Byker where the auction house is. There wasn't a valuer there so I just left my horses - and a couple of other bits for valuation. Bought a cardigan in a charity shop and then went back to Newcastle - where I got a lovely almost new pink bathrobe in another charity shop.

When I got back home Neil was here. Still having trouble walking after his marathon. His hip " went " at 13 miles but he kept on running, However with 9 miles left to go he had to start walking. It must have been quick walking as his finishing time was 4 hours 42 mins. A very respectable time.

This evening I sat in front of my computer screen and watched the Cup match between Manchester City and Newcastle United. Amazingly Newcastle won the match by 2 goals to nil. What a shock exit for Man City.

My blip shot shows the auction house where I went today. The auctioneers Thomas Miller were founded in 1902 and operated from premises in Gallowgate, Newcastle until they moved to this building in 1995.

The building was previously the Ringtons Tea Factory. Ringtons itself has a long history being established in 1907. They moved to this building in 1924. They used to deliver tea around the local area in horse drawn carts. The last horse retired in the 1960's. They continue to deliver door-to-door to over 280,000 customers throughout the UK, and many more worldwide via their online store. They provide the nations’ superior cafes, restaurants, hotels and workplaces with the best tea and coffee. A great local company.

No step count today as the online log continues to show zero. However I know I have done over 10.000 as my Fitbit has buzzed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.