dwalletta

By dwalletta

Worm Man

Cramond Island is a mile offshore, and accessible on foot by a causeway at low tide. By law, all Edinburgers must make the pilgrimage across at some stage. It's a rite of passage for teenagers who defy parental injunctions not to go across because they'll be marooned. There's a warning notice from the RNLI saying that every year they rescue over a hundred people who get stuck, though that could equate to two coach loads of tourists, rather than a hundred separate emergencies.

I've no idea why it's taken me so long, but I walked over for the first time today. And a very fine day it was too - the summer was doing its best to linger a while longer. On the way across I spotted this chap in the distance, digging in the sand, and later I stopped to ask what he was up to. In a friendly way, of course. He was digging for lugworms to use as fishing bait. He offered them up for a photo, but I politely declined.

Song
It could only be this one. But don't listen - it's awful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.