CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Halfway there

This lovely ornate sign post is in the very pretty village of Norton Lindsey in Warwickshire. I've thought for ages about stopping my car to take a photo of it for my Blip, but there is nowhere really to park, and besides, I'm always in a hurry.

Today Technophobe and I went for our Friday bike ride. No, we hadn't wound our clocks back too far last weekend, it's just that we are both unable to go tomorrow. I took this photo almost exactly half way around the route which we took today.

Up until today, I have been thinking that there must be a fault on my bike computer as it hadn't yet reached a mileage beginning with a "2". Well, today we proved that it's not broken, I just haven't cycled far enough before. When we arrived home it read 20.0! We have an Ordnance Survey map on the office wall at home, and it's one of these that you can have printed with your house as the centre point. Well, I looked at it after we arrived home - and we'd cycled off the map today.

This is truly a week of firsts and a cause for celebration. On Tuesday, Technophobe managed to remove her skirt whilst below the surface and under her kayak. This was a first for her and a great achievement as she really hadn't been looking forward too much to that stage. Her little face was beaming when she popped up to the surface. Shame no photos.

Then today was the first time that I have cycled more than 20 miles EVER. And it included what to me is a very steep hill, and I managed it without having to get off and push (I did have to push up one later on though).

If you'd have told us 6 weeks ago that TP would be happy rolling out of her kayak and swimming out from under it, and I would be cycling 20 miles including a few hills, we wouldn't have believed you. So it just goes to show - two old biddies and a bit of teeth gritting can go far - and did!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.