Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Better than TV...

First, many thanks for the wonderful comments, stars and faves on my egret yesterday! I am glad you liked that photo as it was one of my favorites from the day.

I have concluded over the last few years that nature is infinitely more interesting and entertaining than most of the junk on TV. Yesterday we had the epic battle between fish and egret ... and today was the contest of wills between the peli and the gull. I have actually been hoping to photograph this behavior. When the pelican dove into the water (from about 20 feet up), the gull was waiting. The minute the pelican's head broke the surface of the water - whammo - the gull jumped right on it, determined to get the catch away. For several minutes, the gull flapped and stomped and made a racket while the peli stoically kept his head (and his prize) under water. Eventually he dislodged the gull and gulped down his meal while the gull sullenly watched. Hey, if you don't believe me about the sullenness (is that a word?) just look at the expression on his face!. Seriously, isn't this better than TV?

I went to Redington Beach today, which is only about 10-15 minutes from here. Hadn't been there before and was so glad I went! There is a wonderful rocky section of the beach that is just begging to be photographed with a long exposure. And at sunset! Not sure when I'll get back over there, but soon - and with a tripod and an ND filter. After the beach, I visited the Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary, a bird rehab center. I was there almost 2 years ago and was so impressed with the work they do. And today didn't disappoint. In additoin to the birds who are being rehabbed, there are many wild birds who hang out and nest in the trees around the sanctuary. I saw so many black-crowned night herons that I lost count - not to mention snowy and great egrets and three black vultures. I posted 10 pics from today starting with a BC night heron building a nest.

Thunderstorms in the forecast for tonight which will bring a "cold" front with tomorrow's high only being 74F/24C. And even cooler on Saturday (which is hub's birthday - shhh, don't say anything!)

Thank you so very much for stopping by. Happy Thursday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.