weewilkie

By weewilkie

southside

Some fellow blippers have a 'derelict Thursday' so this is my entry for today. I had to cross the river for a meeting and got off a couple of stops early to have a prowl around.

This part of the city is where I spent the first 5 years of my marriage. As I pass through the buildings and streets there is always a slightly whimsical filter through which I experience the place. It is tinted with being young and married and reeling around the beginnings of it all. From this point in time it seems impossibly potent with missed possibilities.

So, when I look at this building beside the train track - as barren now as my marriage is- a muddle of memory and emotion is the mortar among the brickwork. For we can never really and truly and cleanly look at the things that were the stagecraft to the acts and scenes of this entity called 'us'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.