tree sickness

I noticed these lesions on some of the young ash trees this morning. A quick google led me to Teagasc, the forestry service's site, and a probable identification as Chalara fraxinea, a fungal pathogen which has caused major tree deaths across Europe.
I rang them for advice, they asked for pictures. I emailed pictures to them at lunchtime and received an immediate phonecall. One of their tree guys was with me by four and we spent the remainder of the daylight taking samples from all the affected trees. The samples will all be sent for analysis. The tree guy was reluctant to give a definite opinion but I got the impression he thought the news would not be good.

A positive result will mean having to remove, roots and all, all of the ash trees on site.
Ten days till we find out.

This took up my whole day and I didnt get a chance to blip anything else.

In spite of it, and of feeling sad about all these lovely young trees possibly having to be culled, I had a really nice day, full of pleasant encounters with helpful people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.