Now is all you have

By AgnesSkula

Volcanic gas pollution

"High pollution values, close windows, turn up heat and stay inside. Civil Protection"

This is the text message 40.000 people got from 112 (911) today. The gas from the Holuhraun eruption lies like a blue carpet over my hometown and all the fjord. I went out for a little while to take pictures and when I came home my throat was sore and I had irritation in my eyes.
The gas level was almost 4000 μg/m3. Levels above 600 are considered "Unhealthy for sensitive individuals". Levels 2000-9000 are considered "Unhealthy". The human health effect is mainly caused by SO2.

When I looked at the level just around 9 o'clock this evening the level was down to 149 μg/m3, so everything is turning normal again, thank God.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.