Food

Now weighing about 68 kg, need to build up strength and above all get water back in the system. I have a chronic problem with getting fluid in to my system which is aslo the major reason why I have stones, the kidneys simply not being properly flushed out. Chances are most people have tiny grains but through "normal" intake of fluids these are simply washed out without ever noticing them.

So today was chained up to IV drip pumping in loads of electrolyt loaded water and eating whatever I could get my hands on. Had slept wonderfully and spent whole day running around bored as xxxx but knowing it was vital I was being tanked up. The bedding alongside the car entrance to the hospital was tempting but thought better of it. Don't think a vegetarian diet is called for at the moment.

Credit where credit is due - this visit is turning in to a unique visit. For the first time, the urology department is tréating me as a "human" and not as a specific technical problem to be dealt with in the same way as all the other hundred of stones cases. I did say quite clearly on admission that I hadn't come earlier for fear I would leave with the stone problem solved but my body in total, in 10 times worse condition. I have not a seconds' sdoubt that they are technically superb and indeed have a good reputation but it was always limited to the one region. My last visit last year ended me landing in the real A&E of another hospital with criticla kidney failure, caused by antibiotics I was forced to take, knowing my body would react negatively. So good news and maybe next time I will act earlier.

So although another visit for a few days in 4 weeks, feeling very positive and can feel the fluids & solids making me stronger, minute for minute.

On the negative side, my daughter was in contact as her 8 y.o. "shadow" dog, Poppy, had almost overnight become ill and had to be put to sleep immediately. Kate is a very well anchored stable person, yes an animal lover and protector of fanatic proportions but understandably the sudden shock hit her very hard. A death due to a long illness or old age, she could have managed better but this was a sledgehammer blow. Words like, comfort yourself that you gave her a wonderul 8 years, is water off a duck's back - Kate, rightly, expects us to treat all animals at all times with respect and give them a fitting environment - she's not a crazy unrealistic activist, she has a very small herd of sheep and has knowing at some stage they will be slaughtered for meat. Our thoughts are with you all, guys.
RIP Poppy.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.